Article

Sunday, March 15th, 2015

The article I have chosen is titled ‘Students cry poor but minister unmoved’.

Click HERE for article.

This article discusses the need for a raised amount of maximum living costs amount from StudyLink for students. It compares the cost of living with the amount that the government currently provides and shows that for students with no financial support other than these living costs, it is impossible to afford the cost of living without spending nearly all their available time in part time work, which leaves less time for focussing on their studies. The article shows the small increase in Living Costs since 1999 and explains that the increase does not fit with the increase in the cost of living.

I chose this article because it rings true for myself. I am currently flatting in Auckland’s CBD and have to work at least 14 hours a week to afford my rent and bills, on top of receiving living costs from StudyLink. I find balancing my studies with part-time work very challenging. I envy all those students who have the luxury to either still live with their families rent-free, or those who do flat but receive financial support from their parents.

With the image I create to summarise this article, I would like to emphasise the struggle with balancing full-time studies, part-time work, finances and bills, and trying to fit all this balancing into a tight time schedule.

Leave a Reply

