Progress

Sunday, April 19th, 2015

Here is my current Photoshop progress. I have put my preferred parts of the piggy bank together and given it a pink colour. I still need to fix up the pinkness of the nostrils. I have put the opacity down for the purpose of this post as I am unsure how I could (or if I should) incorporate some of the facial features onto the piggy bank. I need to still do the cracking of the piggy bank and the porcelain and coins flying out. I am also unsure about how to blend in the person’s hair with the piggy bank as the example for the cracking head I have seen (in research post) has a person with a bald head which is obviously easier to work with in Photoshop.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 4.47.43 pm

Update 22/04/15:

Current progress, decided to completely cover the head and took out the hair and chin that was showing. Next I still need to add in the cracked pieces and have them and the coins flying out.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 3.38.44 pm

8 comments on “Progress

  1. Wow this looks great I love the images you chose and the concept they really work well together. You did a good job making the girl look like her head is in the piggy bank however i would suggest having it all around her head. The contrast of the piggy bank and her hair is a little confusing. So far this looks great! Keep up the good work.

    Like

  2. sarahrballantyne says:

    Awesome progress on your photo-real image. I think the idea of the piggy bank being cracked if a very good way of reaching breaking point. This really portrays your idea well. You could make the piggy bank a little bigger so your not seeing the hair in it as much. Or maybe just slightly cut off some of the hair so its less hair seen? Your photoshop skills on here are done super well especially how your hands wrap around the piggy bank. Your doing well, keep it up 🙂

    Like

  3. I really, really love the concept. And although the angle of the piggy bank isn’t perfect, I believe this will end up looking amazing. Oh yeah, and covering the entire head was a great idea, I think. Trying to blend the hair in would have been a pain, most likely. You’ll probably have enough trouble drawing the shadows!

    Like

  4. I have read through your article previously and it is in short, about the difficulties that come with students paying bills etc. I really like your concept and it looks as though it is coming together quite nicely although, I don’t know if your audience is going to understand the visual imagery unless they look at it together with reading the article. What I am saying is, how will your audience know whether or not the person in your image is a student? Perhaps you could put the person in your image here in another setting that is more familiar to a student? Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  5. This is a really, really cool idea. Covering the head was definitely a good idea. Maybe also adding in shadows will make it look more realistic? From what you’ve written it seems like you’ve got some really great plans ahead!

    Like

  6. florencefournier says:

    This is a really effective idea! I like the simplicity of it so far, and I can’t wait to see a finished version with the cracked piggybank and coins spilling out. I think using the piggybank to cover her whole head works really well and shows just how much financial stresses can get into a person’s head! I agree with the comment that suggests it might be hard for an uninformed audience to discern that she’s a university student. I realise that you’ve probably already sorted this out some other way, but a possible way of remedying this could be to have something like a graduation cap hanging on a hook on the wall behind her, if this is something you could get access to photograph. Or maybe the piggybank could somehow wear it without disturbing the edited effects you’re going to add. Either way, it’s looking really good so far.

    Keep up the good work!

    Like

  7. Hey this image looks great! Haha I love the humour! Maybe its just me that finds this funny? no? I just love that pig! Anyway I’d say stick with the pig head completely and don’t bother blending the hair in. I feel this will just distract from the strong imagery. Possibly you could add a little frown on the pig? So they look a little stressed and upset about being broken open? Great job though! Look forward to seeing the finished product!

    Like

Leave a Reply

