Brief 1 Research – Image manipulation techniques

Wednesday, April 22nd, 2015

For this research post, I have found a photoshop tutorial which could help me to achieve the cracked look I am trying to achieve. The tutorial is below:

Upon first glance I was happy to find this tutorial but after watching it I realised it only helps me with an idea of how I can use my cracked pieces to achieve the look. This tutorial is done entirely with stock images so is not as in depth as I would have liked as it mostly involves dragging in the stock images.

However, this tutorial is useful as it has shown me how I can blend in the edges of the cracked porcelain images I have with the the piggy bank head.

It has also given me the idea to leave the inside of the piggy bank hollow to enhance my idea and show that money is all that the student can think about – hence there being nothing else inside the head. I did consider revealing some of the face underneath the smashed piggy bank but I think it will be more effective – both visually and for the meaning – to have a hollow head.

Leave a Reply

